Hello Work: Vol. 5 Ch. 11 (Mhoffm)

Chapter 11 ~ Outbreak of War

After finishing the rooftop (temporary) for the castle, I get down and check the building construction.

The completed architecture is completely different from what I originally planned. It’s not something which I can proudly show off to others.

Japanese castles are one those building types which are designated as a World Heritage Site. It’s not something that can be built on the spot with an ambiguous idea as a guide.

I secretly seal the idea of building it deep in my heart, and one day I’ll finish constructing it. I will never give up!

“This is not bad. The view from the top is also nice.”

“Where is the entrance, Masaru-sama?”

“On the rooftop.”

I’m the one who built this building from scratch, and I intentionally did not create an entrance at the bottom. I am afraid of the risk of getting invaded if I don’t surround us with walls. There is still no door leading to the inside. Creating a proper door is more time-consuming than creating a bunch of walls.

By making the entrance on the rooftop the chance of invasion is low, unless the invaders can fly through the sky.

But what about Sati? The height of this tower is about 10 meters. She is capable of using Levitation, but is this too high for her?

“Sati, can you try climbing up to the rooftop?”

“Yes!”

When she tried, as expected, it was impossible for her to reach it with a single jump. But, by continuously supporting herself on the slight crease of the building she was able to climb to the top.

I thought she would find it more difficult, yet Sati masterfully showed her climbing prowess in front of me.

“That’s amazing, Sati!” I shouted up to her.

“Now I’m going to come back down!”

“No, no, please wait!”

After a moment, she prepared to jump. Afraid, I hurriedly stopped her in her tracks. I think she can do well, but honestly, I’m just scared for her.

I go up to the roof with Levitation and approach Sati.

“I think it shouldn’t be too hard for me to descend from here, maybe?”

Even the person herself said so.

“Here, when you get off, why don’t you try holding on me?”

Like that, Sati promised me she wouldn’t attempt to jump down.

Let’s make a proper entrance tomorrow.

For the time being, I finished up the interior parts of the bedroom and bathroom. We included bedding as one of the items for travelling so there won’t be a problem sleeping comfortably tonight.

My plan is to use this house during the winter sojourn. After that, I don’t really have any plan for it. In the end, I decided that this place should at least have a minimum of basic furniture and cooking utensils.

The fortress is full of traders. There are various types of shop there and I decided to go on a tour of them tomorrow.

“Eh? You already built your own house? So, you are going to stay over there from now on?”

We went back to report it to Olba-san.

“That’s right. Masaru built something awesome!” Ellie proudly told Nania-san of my feat creating the castle tower.

“Don’t you have any problem with your magic power?”

“Let’s see … I think there won’t be problem as long as I always take breaks in-between.”

The building was large enough that my magic power is diminished. However, there is still plenty of power to spare, and if I don’t have enough, I can always ask Ann to replenish some of it.

The deforestation was proceeding smoothly while I was out building the house. The villagers were just preparing for lunch during another break.

In the meantime, I offered the Orc meat which I had stored inside my Item Box.

The truth is, I’m not joining in the work this evening. They are cutting down the trees and turning them into firewood. Since we have relieved them of the hassle of moving the logs, there is less of a workload for them. But since they are providing us with food for lunch, it’s better for me to show my gratitude since they certainly helped me settle in. Besides, although I don’t know for how long, I’ve built a house here in the neighbourhood, so it’s natural to keep a friendly relationship with them.

“My hometown is not actually a poor village, it’s just that this year’s harvest has not been great.”

The rain shortage is a serious issue here as well. However, the river near here still has sufficient water flowing through it, so even in this drought there have been some crops to harvest.

The work resumed after lunch.

I want to contribute to cutting down the trees, but Olba-san said that I should take a rest.

I’ve heard a lot that the recovery of magic power takes time, but I wonder how is it in a real-time situation.

“What about that?”

“I think it’s better for you to recover while you still have time.”

When I asked Ellie, she mentioned that in while in a state of relaxation, the recovery rate for magic power is increased. A theory like that exists. But it’s just a theory at best. There is nothing to back it up yet.

Normal people are unable to quantify their magic power. The only way they can confirm it is through experience.

Well, since I’m not well-versed in this subject myself, I think it’s the best for me not to pursue it that much.

“There is still time.”

“……”

Tilika nodded in agreement.

Sati is with Ann, while Ellie is helping out with the deforestation. Tilika and I are alone.

In truth, Tilika is not actually that busy. We’re both working together.

Right now, Hawk is flying around doing reconnaissance work. Once a demon is detected, it is to be exterminated in an instant.

Alone, I tried to think about making a well, although I don’t have much idea of how to go about it.

If I don’t build one soon after I dig down to the water, the water will be unusable as it will become muddy very quickly.

Maybe I should make a building for it too. It’s fun to have meals outdoors, but currently we are in mid-winter. Too cold.

A decent kitchen and dining room are good enough. There is no need for an over-complicated structure. I’d like it to be a big one so that it can accommodate more people.

This place has a water well alongside the dining room. I made it indoors while I was building the wall earlier this morning. I made it on my own, I hope they won’t demolish it if it happens to get in the way.

My magic power continues to recover naturally. In order to reduce the wastage in my usage, I’m making the wall thinner. If the amount of soil used is small, only a small amount of magical power will be consumed. Since I’m going to live inside the tower that I built today, I made the wall thick to ensure its sturdiness.

“It’s still cold.” Tilika murmured. I entered the dining hall which I just built. The temperature is the same here as outside.

“Okay, okay. Let’s build a fire.”

I made a hearth on the wall with Earth Magic. Should I build three?

I take out firewood from my Item Box and light up the hearth. I boil some water and brew the Magi Tea. Time to warm up.

“How is the situation?”

“They are not very near.”

It’s hard for Hawk to discover enemies inside the forest since it is doing reconnaissance from the sky. But that is also good news because it means there are no large flocks or gigantic enemy.

Cleaning the surrounding demons was done without a hassle. No, most of the work was done by Taiga alone.

Although by letting Taiga do most of the work, recovery of the prey is difficult and we won’t receive any experience.

While thinking about that and hugging Tilika in front of the fire, the door opened and Olba-san, Ann, Ellie, and Sati came in.

“This, when did …”

Olba-san was shocked. This is the first time Olba-san saw a house built by me.

Aside from the hearth, there are also chair and desk ready to be used. I made enough furniture for 40 people to use at once because I used the orphanage as a reference.

“The weather is cold outside so I tried making it as resting place as well.”

“It has a good atmosphere.”

Ellie is warming herself in front of the hearth.

“I want to request for you to create some more farmland soon. Do you have enough magic power?”

“Yes. I’ve been resting, at this point I am recovered.”

“Eh? Didn’t you just build all of this just now?”

“Well, yeah. But building this didn’t consume all that much magic power though.”

“This is quite a grand building, so I thought that it required a lot of magic power.”

“I made the walls a little bit thinner to conserve magic power, it might not be much more durable than that desk over there.”

“Ah, is that so……”

The table is simply a rectangular shaped box, while the chair is a fixed long bench type. I just solidified the soil without strengthening it. This way, I’m capable of saving my magic power while cutting some time and labor.

“Then, let’s get going.”

“See you later. We’re going to take a break here.”

Ellie said without taking a look back.

Everyone gathered in front of the hearth and warmed themselves. None of them seemed to have the slightest intention of coming with me.

Yup. They had been working until just now. From just now, I’ve noticed while recovering my magic power. It is very cold outside.

“Got it. I’m going.”

Only Sati is following me. No matter what, she is always by my side …

 

Our work is over for today, and finally we are going back to our house (tower).

With this, I finally grasp the extent of my ability, while the chief and Olba-san both said that they will continue the development plan.

Somehow, my magic power is much more than he expected, so the chief is getting motivated.

As expected, Olba-san is feeling bad about it, but Ellie assured him that everything is fine, and Ann supported her.

However, Olba-san insisted that we’re only to help with the parts which he specifies, and afterwards we are required to take a break. All the logging is to be done by his fellow villagers, the only part done by magic will be making the farmland and building the walls, since it is easier that way.

Well, it is more organized that way. There is a much more important fact though.

I’m on vacation, vacation! This is the honeymoon which I’ve been waiting for!

We are not going to be disturbed in this tower either.

Tomorrow, lets go to the fortress and shop for some furniture.

The interior decoration inside the tower is partly done, the walls and the basement too.

There are still many additional things to be completed, but everything can be finished by using magic. Hurrah, magic!

First of all, I’m going to build a bath. I’ll make it twice the size of my rented house at Siory town so that it can easily accommodate five people. Unfortunately, today I only get to enter with Tilika and Sati, but that is not too bad in its own way.

We almost never took a bath on our way here, so it’s been so long that it feels like forever.

Wow, isn’t that fun!

Recently I was a little overwhelmed. I was hunting all the way throughout our journey, and unleashing the Meteor spell.

Both Tilika and Sati are washing my body. In turn, I helped them wash theirs.

“This bath feels so nice!”

“Yes, Masaru-sama.”

I hold Sati and slowly get into the bathtub. Sati is holding Tilika. It’s relaxing even though all three of us are stretching our legs out.

This is it. This. This is the thing that I wanted.

After taking our bath, we eat our meals. Although the day isn’t night yet, I took both Sati and Tilika to the bedroom.

Today is Sati and Tilika’s day. This was decided by all four of them, but I don’t know the details since for me I’m doing it continuously. Rather than a harem, it feels like I’m being shared by four people. Although, I’m pretty sure that this is what a harem is.

After playing plenty of times with Tilika and Sati, and after we were done, visitors came. Although I said visitors, it was Ellie and Ann. It is quite rare for them to come visit me this late at night.

“I wonder if this is a good time. That … I have something to talk about with Masaru.”

Pushing the door slightly ajar, Ellie said this while squirming.

Ah, I get it. Did you take a peek using your Space Magic? Was it impossible to endure anymore?

“I’m taking a bath to wash out this sweat. Do you want to join me?”

However, I need to maintain my gentlemanly manners. After I get consent from the satisfied Sati and Tilika, I head to the bath together with Ellie.

Second round, start! I still have plenty of stamina and time left!

After eating breakfast, we went shopping at the fortress. Today’s cultivation should start around noon. It is more efficient to do it after all the trees are cut down.

The fortress is within flying distance from our place. We are not going to go there many times, so the idea of placing the gate point ran through our head.

We arrived at the fort, and there we shopped for furniture and food ingredients. The shop was quite good and they had plenty of items, and their prices were reasonable.

This fortress, although it is named as one, it actually more resembles a commerical city.

Although this place is near to the Demon Realm, directly adjacent to this fortress is the Elves Forest. The people here have made a treaty by which the elves will handle all the demons. The coalition is for mutual defence, but for now the human side benefits unilaterally. It can’t be helped since the Elven Forest is directly connected to the Demon continent as well.

Of course, the fact that the Elves are taking care of defense doesn’t mean that the human side should take it lightly either, since we are also neighbouring the Demon continent.

But, more importantly is our trade with the Elves. The Elves make an extremely powerful medicine, as well as various other popular products.

“Ladies, how is it? Everything is personally crafted by the Elves!”

There are ten or so accessories in a case which were shown by the clerk at a certain shop. Even the works by Elven amateurs look beautiful.

The lifespan of an elf is several times that of a human. For humans, usually the craftsmen will undergo years of training and studying. Even so, it’s hard to imagine such a beautiful thing will ever be created by them.

The beauty comes with steep price. Everyone’s desire was on display, but it’s clearly out of everyone’s reach.

The Elves themselves were a focus for tourism. Most of the elves from the Elven Forest rarely leave their area. The only exception is this fortress. Once in a while, the elves will come to shop or have a meal.

I’m looking forward to seeing the elves at the fortress, I can stay for days.

However, it seems that the elves are not here today.

Sati wants to go sightseeing in the Elven Forest, so that’s something that I can do at least.

We went to the forest side of the Elven Forest, but the gate was closed for the general public and was off-limits. We were told that the gate will only be opened occasionally when the elves are coming out or the goods merchants are passing through.

I was disappointed when I got called up by the security guards at the gate. There are many others who also want to see the forest. Most of them usually climb through the gate to take a tour.

The guard told me many other things as well.

As a matter of fact, we are prohibited from talking with the elves even if they do come by. We are only allowed to take a look at them from far away. No staring. Only a quick peek.

Both the males and the females have a remarkable beauty. They are the everlasting youth race. They become a target for a few small group who are going after the elves.

Most of the cases end up the humans getting beat up by the elves, who naturally have higher fighting power like a mage, but sometimes it develops into battle between the powerful. That is one of the reasons why many adventurers are attracted to come see the Elven Forest like us.

If trouble brews over and in turn the elves don’t come to the fortress anymore, it would be a terrible loss for the elven lovers. That is why I was forcefully to abide the unwritten laws. Guard san, are you one of those ‘lovers’ …

Besides, it seems that they have a certain complex about their breasts, so if possible, fully mature human girls are not allowed in. They are good climbers. There are rumours saying that the inside of those elves taste very sweet, though it remains unconfirmed.

Sati is delighted to hear the stories about the elves.

I bet the guards have a lot of time to kill. All the gates open rarely, plus there are no monsters. I guess handling tourists like us is well within their job description.

After the guards let us go, we went up the fortress walls. Right now, there is only us on the top.

There are only forests. Although there are roads extending from the gate, there are only forests extending to the end.

The Elven village is still further away from here, though it’s not like the place is visible from over here.

I was the first one to notice.

My Magic Sense level 5 caught some sort of reaction. An enormous magic reaction is coming towards the fortress from the Elven Forest.

Then, Sati noticed. A group of people are flying towards us. There are a lot of them.

They are the Elves. I’m sure they are coming here for entertainment. Very lucky.

Alright boys, my body is ready.

Shortly after, the elves arrive at the front gate. There are about 50 of them. As expected from the elven race, they are always in groups, plus their Fly ability is quite remarkable.

In the sense of their level of magic power, you can feel that each elf is emanating lots of magic power. Just when I’m admiring the ever-powerful elves, their clear voice echoes.

“The gate! Open the gate! Demons are invading from the Demon continent! Prepare for battle!”

The menus open without permission.

The quest tab is blinking.

 

Quest: Save the Elves!】

 

Due to the invasion of the Demons, the Elven Country are likely to fall.

Quickly go to the Elven Country and save them!

Rewards: 10 skill points for the whole party

Do you accept the quest? YES/ NO

 

There goes my fun vacation……

Previous ToC Next
This entry was posted in NEET Hello Work. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Hello Work: Vol. 5 Ch. 11 (Mhoffm)

  1. LAR Games says:

    A race full of pettankos? How absolutely wonderful!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hyouka says:

    Hey, thanks for the chapter.
    About this part though…”They are good climbers. There are rumours ==>(rumors) saying that the inside of those elves taste very sweet, though it remains unconfirmed.” is he talking about eating elves?!

    Like

  3. kuroalicia says:

    FLAT IS JUSTICE!!!

    Like

Leave a comment